Mary Ann Reddoch Named a 2010 School Volunteer of the Year by A+PEL


Mary Ann Reddoch, of Rapides Parish, has been named one of 11 state Volunteers of the Year by the Associated Professional Educators of Louisiana (A+PEL).  She was honored at a reception at the Governor’s Mansion in Baton Rouge on June 8th, where Louisiana’s first lady, Supriya Jindal, greeted the volunteers with warm opening remarks. 

Mary Ann Reddoch Named a 2010 School Volunteer of the Year by A+PELReddoch’s many volunteer duties at Brame Middle School include serving as a 4-H co-sponsor for the after school club, working in the school office as a receptionist, assisting teachers with field trips, and helping with the girls’ soccer team.  “Mary has such a colorful past in being educated and working herself (including a tour in Africa in the Peace Corp).  She brings a wealth of knowledge to our students at Brame.  She is well liked and looked up to by all,” said Principal Wally Fall. 

Reddoch finds being a volunteer is very rewarding. Reddoch explains, “Volunteering at Brame allows the teachers and staff to have an extra pair of hands when needed.  If I can give of my time so they can teach or take care of business with the knowledge that someone can take care of a time consuming task or help in any way, then I can make a small difference in the education for all the students.”  Reddoch has been married to Les Groom for twenty-one years.  They have four children:  Callista, Jerry, Cameron and Keike.

The 11 volunteers were selected by teachers throughout the state.  They were nominated by members of A+PEL, a statewide teacher organization advancing teachers as career professionals.  By focusing on professional development, teacher advocacy and excellence in education, A+PEL works to empower Louisiana’s youth for future success.

The other Volunteers of the Year are Becky Shillings, Ascension Parish; Mary Giecek, Caddo Parish; Chantal Iles, Calcasieu Parish; Cynthia Deshotel, Jefferson Davis Parish; Faye Hollier, Lafayette Parish; Kathy Roy, Livingston Parish; T.K. Waugh, Ouachita Parish; Glenda Joubert, St. Landry Parish; Carol Chauvin, Terrebonne Parish; and Stuart Williams, Union Parish.