Mary Ann Reddoch Named a 2010 School Volunteer of the Year by A+PEL


Mary Ann Reddoch, of Rapides Parish, has been named one of 11 state Volunteers of the Year by the Associated Professional Educators of Louisiana (A+PEL).  She was honored at a reception at the Governor’s Mansion in Baton Rouge on June 8th, where Louisiana’s first lady, Supriya Jindal, greeted the volunteers with warm opening remarks. 

Reddoch’s many volunteer duties at Brame Middle School include serving as a 4-H co-sponsor for the after school club, working in the school office as a receptionist, assisting teachers with field trips, and helping with the girls’ soccer team.  “Mary has such a colorful past in being educated and working herself (including a tour in Africa in the Peace Corp).  She brings a wealth of knowledge to our students at Brame.  She is well liked and looked up to by all,” said Principal Wally Fall. 

Reddoch finds being a volunteer is very rewarding. Reddoch explains, “Volunteering at Brame allows the teachers and staff to have an extra pair of hands when needed.  If I can give of my time so they can teach or take care of business with the knowledge that someone can take care of a time consuming task or help in any way, then I can make a small difference in the education for all the students.”  Reddoch has been married to Les Groom for twenty-one years.  They have four children:  Callista, Jerry, Cameron and Keike.

The 11 volunteers were selected by teachers throughout the state.  They were nominated by members of A+PEL, a statewide teacher organization advancing teachers as career professionals.  By focusing on professional development, teacher advocacy and excellence in education, A+PEL works to empower Louisiana’s youth for future success.

The other Volunteers of the Year are Becky Shillings, Ascension Parish; Mary Giecek, Caddo Parish; Chantal Iles, Calcasieu Parish; Cynthia Deshotel, Jefferson Davis Parish; Faye Hollier, Lafayette Parish; Kathy Roy, Livingston Parish; T.K. Waugh, Ouachita Parish; Glenda Joubert, St. Landry Parish; Carol Chauvin, Terrebonne Parish; and Stuart Williams, Union Parish.